The 2015 edition will take place on October 17th. We will kick off at 10h00, lunch and coffee breaks are included in the programme and the end is foreseen around 18h15. There will be an opportunity to go for drinks afterwards, more news will follow soon.

You can find the 2015 programme below.


Conference registration (9h30)

Registration for all Participants except for invited speakers


Opening session (10h00-10h15)

Stefan Diederich, Zoë Imhof, Members of the Organisation Committee

Jörg Monar, Rector of the College of Europe


Opening Keynote (10h15-11h00)

Didier Reynders, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Affairs, Kingdom of Belgium


PANEL I: ‘The Banking Union and Financial Regulation: what way forward for Europe?’ (11h00-12h30)

Katarzyna Hanula-Bobbitt, Senior Public Affairs Officer, Finance Watch

Mathias Dewatripont, Director, National Bank of Belgium

David Schäfer, Researcher, London School of Economics

Michel Vermaerke, CEO, Febelfin

Moderator: Henning vom Stein, Head of Brussels Office, Bertelsmann Stiftung


PANEL II: ‘Progress through crisis? EU-Foreign Policy and the unstable Eastern neighbourhood (11h00-12h30)

Alexander Gusarov, First secretary, Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the EU

Masha Hedberg, Adjunct Professor, Johns Hopkins SAIS Bologna Center

Arnoldas Pranckevičius, Foreign Policy Adviser to the President at European Parliament Martin Schulz

Moderator: Michele Chang, Professor, European Political and Administrative Studies Department, College of Europe



 Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (13h30-14h30)




PANEL III: ‘Black Swan, Black Sheep? Human Smugglers and Illegal Immigration to the EU’  (15h00-16h30)

Johanna Gereke, Researcher, European University Institute

Maximilian Popp, Journalist, Der Spiegel

Martin Xuereb, Executive Director, Migrant Offshore Aid Station

Moderator: Tobias Maassen, Vaclav Havel Promotion, College of Europe


PANEL IV: The energy transition: what way towards a young Energy Union?’ (15h00-16h30)

Dries Acke, Policy Manager, European Climate Foundation

Caroline Dieckhöner, Energy Analyst, KfW Banking Group

Michael Mieszczanski, EU Affairs Advisor, ENTSO-E

Moderator: Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Research Fellow, Jaques Delors Institute




Wrap-up: Summary and outlook of the conference (17h00-17h15)

Kathleen Burkhard, Clemens Domnick, Members of the Organisation Committee


Closing Session (17h15-18h15)

Miro Cerar, Prime Minister of the Republic of Slovenia

Olivier Costa, Director of the European Political and Administrative Studies Department, College of Europe



* speaker requested but not yet confirmed