Edition 2014

The second edition of the Conference took place on October 4, 2014 at the College of Europe in Bruges.

Opening session: (10h00-10h15)
Sofía Mairal Montero & David Schäfer,
 Members of the Organisation Committee

Jörg Monar, Rector of the College of Europe


Opening Keynote: (10h15-11h00)

Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council


PANEL I: A new Parliament, a new Commission: What future for the EU?  (11h00-12h30)

Pervenche Berès, Member of the European Parliament, S&D

Anthony Giddens, former Director of the London School of Economics, House of Lords

Goele Janssen, Young European Federalists Belgium

Michal Boni, Member of the European Parliament, EPP

Moderator: Olivier Costa, Director of the European Political and Administrative Studies Department, College of Europe


PANEL II: Youth unemployment, austerity and rising mobility: What place for Europe’s young generation? (11h00-12h30)

Daniela Harsch, Ministry of the Economy and Finance of Baden-Württemberg

Marina del Corral Tellez, Secretary General for Immigration and Emigration, Spanish Ministry of Employment and Social Security

Bart Vandewaetere, Assistant Vice President, Nestlé Zone Europe

Andrej Stuchlik, Project Manager Bertelsmann Stiftung

Moderator: Benjamin Fox, EU Observer


 Creative destruction: How to finance Europe’s innovative capacity? (13h45-15h15)

Philippe de Fontaine Vive, Vice-President responsible for Innovation, European Investment Bank

Dimitris Tsigos, President of the European Confederation of Young Entrepreneurs

Reinhilde Veugelers, Professor of Economics, KU Leuven

Moderator: Michele Chang, Professor in the European Political and Administrative Studies Department, College of Europe


PANEL IV: Digital economy: Is Europe ready for the future challenges? (13h45-15h15)
Nicholas Zylberglajt,
 Co-Founder and Vice-President, European Young Innovators Forum

Erika Mann, Managing Director, Facebook

Ben Wagner, Director of the Centre for Internet & Human Rights, European University Viadrina

Moderator: Bojan Pancevski, EU correspondent, The Sunday Times (UK).




DEBATE PANEL I: Resistance to the European project: How to deal with declining support for European integration? (15h45-17h00)

Kathleen Van Brempt, Member of the European Parliament, S&D

Guillaume Klossa, Founding President EuropaNova

John Lisney, European Youth Forum

Nicolas Startin, Lecturer in French and European Studies, University of Bath

Moderator: Konstantin Tsapogas von Taube, Managing Editor, New Europe


DEBATE PANEL II: ‘No one’s world’: What place for Europe in the new world (dis)order? (15h45-17h00)

Ioan Mircea Pasçu, Member of the European Parliament, S&D

Oda Helen Sletnes, President of the EFTA Surveillance Authority

Ana Hernández Sierra, Spanish Foreign Affairs Ministry

Moderator: Francesco Marchi, ESSEC Business School of Paris


Closing Session (17h00-18h00)

Yves Leterme, former Prime Minister of Belgium

Olivier Costa, Director of the European Political and Administrative Studies Department, College of Europe